Rhode Island Department of Human Services

HOW TO GET A RIPTA MONTHLY BUS PASS

Individuals eligible for the Rhode Island Works Cash Assistance Program are eligible for

a free monthly RIPTA bus pass. We hope that this bus pass will provide you and your

family the transportation you need to meet the requirements of your work plan. You can

obtain your bus pass through Medical Transportation Management (MTM).

Here’s how to get your bus pass:

Call MTM at 1-8565-330-9131 and let them know that you are on the

RI Works Program.

MTM will verify your Rl Works eligibility and mail out your bus pass within

3-5 days after your request.

You may call for your bus pass on or after the 25t of the month for the following
month. For example, calls for bus passes for July can be made beginning on
June 25t

Whenever possible, call before the 1st of the month to avoid delays.

Your bus pass is good for 1 month at a time. You must call each month to get a
new bus pass.

Each member of your family is eligible for a bus pass, if one is needed. Children
under 5 years old ride for free.

If you are on Medicaid as well as Rl Works and are unable to take the bus for
medical reasons or because your home or medical appointment is not near a bus

line, you may ask for help in getting to your medical appointment.
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Please remember that under RI State Law, if you receive a bus pass from the State,

you are not allowed to sell or give this pass to anyone else.
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