
STATE OF RHODE ISLAND 
DEPARTMENT OF HUMAN SERVICES 

 
TO:               Interested Parties 
 
FROM:        DHS Office of Policy Development 
 
DATE:         November 15, 2016 
 
SUBJECT:  Proposed DHS Rule-Making 
             
 
In accordance with the Chapter 42-35 of the Rhode Island General Laws, as amended 
(specifically Section 42-35-2.11 of the amended Administrative Procedures Act) and 
pursuant to the provisions of Chapters 40-6-8 of the General Laws of Rhode Island as 
amended, the Department of Human Services (DHS) hereby proposes to file a Direct Final 
Rule as contained in the Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program rule, Sections 1000 
through 1083. This rule is being amended in compliance with state and federal law and 
good practice. The proposed rule is as follows: 
 
SUPPLEMENTAL NUTRITION ASSISTANCE PROGRAM (SNAP) 
Sections 1000 through 1083, Rules and Regulations 
 
This rule is being amended to reflect the following:  
 

• Rules are being revised to reflect the 2017 federal cost-of-living adjustment.  
Proposed revisions were filed under emergency rule-making guidelines effective 
October 1, 2016.  The cost-of-living adjustment includes the following changes: 

o the Standard Utility Allowance (SUA) has decreased from $613 to $605 
due to a decrease in the cost of fuel and utilities as calculated by the 
annual Consumer Price Index (CPI);  

o the gross and net income eligibility standards have been increased as a 
result of the annual cost of living adjustment for household sizes 1 
through 5 or 1 through 6, depending on the household’s gross income 
limit; the maximum excess shelter deduction has increased from $504 to 
$517;  

o the maximum standard deduction for household sizes 1-3 has increased 
from $155 to $157 and remains unchanged for household sizes 4-6+.   

• The Sections relating to the Treasury Offset Program (TOP) (1024.35.25.05.05 
and   1024.35.25.05.10) have been updated to reflect the following: 

o The rule now allows a debtor 90 days from the date of the demand letter to 
request a fair hearing instead of 30 days.  This aligns with policy already 
promulgated relating to claims collection and appeals rights. 

o To indicate that unless a claim is paid within 30 days (previously 60 days) 
of the date of the demand letter, the claim will be referred to TOP. This 
aligns with policy already promulgated relating to claims collection. 

o As a result of a change in federal law (The Digital Accountability and 



Transparency Act of 2014), legally enforceable non-tax debts that are 120 
days delinquent must be referred for offset to the Treasury Offset 
Program.  The rule previously allowed 180 day delinquency period. 

 
This proposed rule is accessible through the RI Secretary of State’s Proposed Rules 
and Regulations Database Search (http://www.sec.state.ri.us/ProposedRules/) 
or available in hard copy upon request (401-462-2018). If no formal objection is received 
on or before December 15, 2016, the Department of Human Services will file the 
amendment without opportunity for public comment. ). All written objections should be 
sent to Bethany Caputo, Office of Policy Development, Department of Human Services, 
Louis Pasteur Building, Bldg. 57, Howard Avenue, Cranston, RI 02920 or 
Bethany.caputo@dhs.ri.gov and must be received not later than 11:59 PM on Thursday, 
December 15, 2016. 
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