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OFFICE OF CHILD CARE 
 

Mission 
As a division of the Rhode Island Department of Human Services, the Office of Child Care supports the 
workforce in providing families with equitable access to high-quality, safe, affordable child-care. 
 
Core Values 
The Core Values describe the desired culture and foundational beliefs of the Office of Child Care: 

 
• Service: Commitment to protecting the health and safety of children. 
• Compassion: Valuing each culture, individual and creating a culture of respect. 
• Accountability: Being transparent, solution-focused and committed to improvement. 
• Partnership: Work collaboratively with the child care workforce, families and each other for the benefit 

of children in care. 
 
Overview  
The Office of Child Care (OCC) at the RI Department of Human Services (DHS) administers and manages the 
Child Care Assistance Program (CCAP); this program supports the dual purpose of promoting children’s healthy 
brain development and supporting low-income families with equitable access to high-quality, safe, affordable 
child-care.  
 
The Office of Child Care is comprised of the following teams and initiatives: 
 
• CCAP Provider Management Team 

Processes and approves provider applications, renewals, and payments; provides technical support to 
CCAP Providers; and maintains the CCAP Central Prover Directory. 

• Child Care Licensing Team 
All Early Learning programs (child care centers, preschools, family child care, nursery schools, Head Start 
and Early Head Start programs) must be licensed by the Department of Human Services. Licensed 
providers are not required but are strongly encouraged to become CCAP Approved Providers. Currently 
66% of licensed providers serve CCAP children.  

• Early Childhood Quality Initiatives & Support Team 
Provide oversight to a variety of quality initiatives using CCDF, TANF and PDG funds to support early 
childhood education quality improvement.  

• Head Start Collaboration Office 
Supports Rhode Island Head Start grantees’ engagement and representation within the states early 
childhood systems, programs and services. Administers and monitors the state’s supplemental, non-
federal share for Head Start.  
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INTRODUCTION 
 
This CCAP Handbook is meant to serve as a resource for all DHS-Approved CCAP Providers (CCAP Providers) to 
understand the responsibilities, opportunities and duties of serving children in the Child Care Assistance 
Program.  
 
This is not intended to be an all-inclusive list of Provider Responsibilities and Duties. For a full listing of the 
requirements, please review the CCAP Provider Agreement, CCAP Rules and Regulations and RI General Laws 
42-12-23.  
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TERMS AND DEFINITIONS  
 

Term Definition 
Age Categories Age range of children enrolled: 

• Infant/Toddler: 1 week up to 3 years of age 
• Preschool: 3 years up to 1st grade entry (includes ALL Kindergarten children) 
• School Age: 1st grade up to 13 years of age 

o Certain children with diagnosed special needs may be categorized as 
school age through the age of 18. 

o Please note that when a family’s work hours fall during school hours, 
their hours are automatically adjusted. DHS calculates school hours as 
9:30 AM – 1:30 PM, Monday – Friday from early September to mid-
June. 

Application Date The date that a signed CCAP Provider Application for CCAP is stamped and received by 
the Office of Child Care. 

Authorized Hours The child care hours a CCAP eligible child is approved to use in a given time period. 
These hours are based on the family's need for services. CCAP authorized hours are 
categorized as follows: 

• Full Time: 30 hours or more per week 
• Three Quarter Time: 20-29 hours per week  
• Half Time: 10-19 hours per week 
• Quarter Time: 0-9 hours per week 

Back Billing Enrollments not captured in the two-week batch payment likely due to a system issue, 
change in eligibility, etc. must be submitted outside of the CCAP Provider Portal using 
the CCAP Provider Back Billing Request Form.  

Batch A two-week pay period for CCAP Providers.  
Benefit Decision 
Notice (BDN) 

A system-generated notice that informs the family of their authorized benefits 
(including child care eligibility and authorized hours.)  

BrightStars Rating RI’s Quality Rating and Improvement System or QRIS. The QRIS works to assess, 
improve and communicate the level of quality in early learning/school-age care 
settings. The QRIS consists of five star level ratings.  

Care End Date             If known, the date the parent/guardian intends to stop bringing their child to the 
provider for care. 

Care Location The location the provider is delivering care.  
Care Start Date The first day that child care is provided.  
CCAP Provider ID          The unique number that is assigned to the provider by DHS. 
Center-Based Child 
Care Program 

A facility operated on a regular basis which receives children, not of common 
parentage, and provides non-residential care in a group setting. 

• Center-based child care providers are required to obtain licensure from DHS. 
Certificate Number     The unique number that is given to a parent who applies for child care. Child Care 

Providers must have this number to enroll a child.   
Certification Period The period that an eligible child may obtain CCAP authorized child care services; a 

certification period shall not be less than twelve (12) months in duration unless a 
family exceeds the income threshold, does not cooperate with the Office of Child 
Support for the child receiving CCAP, moves outside of RI or commits fraud. 
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Term Definition 
Disenrollment If a child is deemed ineligible for CCAP services, or discontinues attendance at a 

program, the CCAP Approved Provider must end the child’s enrollment from the 
program in the CCAP Provider Portal. 

End Time                    The time a child leaves the provider’s care. 
Enrollment Once a child is deemed eligible for CCAP services, a CCAP Approved Provider must 

enroll the child in the CCAP Provider Portal for their eligible care hours.  
Family Child Care 
Home 

A child care program located in the provider's home residence in which child care 
services may be offered at the same time to four (4) or more children unrelated to the 
child care provider, or up to eight (8) children with an approved assistant. 

• Family Child Care Home shall not mean a private residence used for an 
informal cooperative arrangement among neighbors or relatives, or the 
occasional care of children with or without compensation. 

• Family Child Care Providers are required to obtain licensure from DHS. 
Family Share The amount a family is expected to contribute in co-payments to the cost of child care 

services. 
Group Family Child 
Care Home 

A child care program located in the provider's home residence in which child care 
services may be offered at the same time for up to nine (9), but no more than twelve 
(12) children unrelated to the child care provider. 

• Group Family Child Care Home Providers are required to obtain licensure from 
DHS. 

License Exempt Child 
Care 

Any relative of a family eligible for CCAP rendering child care in the home of the child 
or the provider (not to exceed 6 related children), who has been successfully screened 
by the DHS and determined eligible to participate in the CCAP.  

• License Exempt Providers are not required under applicable State laws to 
obtain licensure from DHS but must meet the capacity requirements.  

• License Exempt Providers are only approved in CCAP if they have a CCAP 
pending or eligible child in their care. 

Licensing Provider ID       The number printed on the lower left corner of your DHS Child Care License, this only 
applies to Licensed Providers. 

Pending Certificate 
Number 

The unique number that is given to a parent who applies for child care but has not yet 
been authorized (approved.) Child Care Providers can use this number to enroll a child 
for care prior to eligibility being established; however, if the child is later deemed 
ineligible, the state is not responsible for the payments made during the time a 
pending certificate number is used.  

Provider Name             First, middle initial, and last name of the person or organization providing child care. 
Quality Rating and 
Improvement 
System (QRIS) 

A systemic approach to assess, improve, and communicate the level of quality in early 
and school-age care and education programs 

Relationship               When you enroll a child, you will be asked if you are related to the child in your care.  
This question matters if you are a licensed-exempt provider.  

Relative An individual at least eighteen (18) years old who is the grandparent, great-
grandparent, aunt/uncle, or sibling, not living in the home, as it pertains to Licensed 
Exempt Providers. The status of relative is established by blood, marriage or court 
decree. 



7 
 

Term Definition 
Star Rating The BrightStars rating, also referred to as a Star Rating, determines the provider’s 

(both family child care and center-based providers) reimbursement rate. As a provider 
increases their program’s quality along the Quality Rating and Improvement System 
(QRIS), they are eligible to receive an increased CCAP reimbursement rate.  

Start Time                   The time of day a child arrives for care with the provider.  
Step Rating As negotiated under the Collective Bargaining Agreement (CBA) between State of RI 

and SEIU1199, family child care providers who serve CCAP children are eligible to 
receive differentiated payments based upon their educational experience/background. 
Details of the step ratings (1-4) are available in the CBA. 

Tax ID Number          Child Care earnings are reported to the Internal Revenue Service using the provider’s 
Tax ID number. Typically, a provider’s social security number is their Tax ID number. 
Licensed providers can apply for a unique Tax ID (different from their SSN) at the IRS.  

Tiered 
Reimbursement 
Rates 

Depending on the provider type there are two quality rating scales which impact CCAP 
reimbursement rates, Steps and BrightStars (Stars). Programs demonstrating higher 
quality indicators receive a higher quality rating which correlates to a higher 
reimbursement rate. 
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CCAP PROVIDER RESPONSIBILITIES 
 
All CCAP Providers 
Centers, Family Child Care, Group Family Child Care and License Exempt Providers must: 

• Have a signed and valid CCAP Provider Agreement. 
• Have access to the CCAP Provider Portal.  
• Comply with the terms and conditions set forth in the CCAP Provider Agreement to receive payment 

from DHS for authorized child care services. Failure to comply with the terms and conditions may result 
in termination of the CCAP Provider Agreement and the withdrawal of your CCAP Provider status. 

• Notify the Office of Child Care – Provider Management Team of any relevant changes in status, location 
or any information maintained in your CCAP Provider Agreement within ten (10) days of change via the 
Provider Change form. 

o CCAP Provider Agreements are not transferable between providers and locations. In the event of 
a relocation or business transfer/sale, a new child care license must be obtained, and this change 
must be reflected in a new DHS-Approved CCAP Provider Agreement.  The Office of Child Care – 
Provider Management Team must receive notice of this change at least 30 days prior to the 
transfer/relocation/sale. 

• Have a working phone and valid email address at all times. The Office of Child Care periodically sends 
communication to all providers via email and/or via broadcast messages on the CCAP Provider Portal. It 
is important for providers to regularly check their inbox and the CCAP Provider Portal for various 
announcements, deadlines, etc.  

• Accept DHS rates as full payment for Child Care services. For families required to share in the cost of 
paying for child care services, the combination of payments made by DHS and the DHS assigned family 
co-payment will constitute full and total payment. Per state law and CCAP Rules and Regulations, full 
time care is categorized as any authorized time above and beyond 30 hours/week. Under no 
circumstances should a CCAP family be charged a cost/fee exceeding the value of the authorized voucher 
(weekly rate). 

• Follow appropriate CCAP enrollment procedures, including providing parents with a signed copy of the 
Parent/Provider Enrollment Agreement for each new enrollment or change in enrollment. Enrollments 
are to be completed by the provider on the CCAP Provider Portal no later than the week the child begins 
attending. 

o CCAP Providers should contact the Office of Child Care – Provider Management Team via 
DHS.ChildCare@dhs.ri.gov with any questions or concerns regarding CCAP enrollments or 
payments. Please allow the team 48 hours to review your inquiry. 

• Maintain accurate daily attendance records. Per state law and CCAP Rules and Regulations, CCAP 
Providers must have daily attendance records on-site, signed by the parent or guardian, for each eligible 
CCAP child, for a minimum of three (3) years. Providers who use an electronic sign-in/out software are 
also required to maintain daily attendance records for a minimum of three (3) years. 

• Take responsibility to file their income taxes as advised by their personal finance advisor. Every January, 
all CCAP Providers will receive a 1099 that represents payments received from the Office of Child Care 
for the previous calendar year.  

• Adhere to all CCAP Rules & Regulations, which can be accessed at: 
http://www.dhs.ri.gov/Regulations/218-RICR-20-00-4ChildCareAssistanceProgram.pdf 

 
  

mailto:DHS.ChildCare@dhs.ri.gov
http://www.dhs.ri.gov/Regulations/218-RICR-20-00-4ChildCareAssistanceProgram.pdf
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Licensed CCAP Providers  
Center-Based, Family Child Care and Group Family Child Care: 

• Effective October 28, 2019, Rhode Island Department of Human Services is the authorized Child Care 
Licensing Unit for center-based child care, family child care and group family child care. Without an 
active license, providers are not able to provide child care services. Current Child Care Licensing 
Regulations require license renewals every two (2) years for Family Child Care Providers and everyone 
(1) year for Center-Based Providers. Under licensure, each program will receive a minimum of two 
unannounced monitoring visits annually to assess compliance against these regulations.  
o Provider inquiries related to Child Care Licensing should be directed via email to 

DHS.ChildCareLicensing@dhs.ri.gov. Please allow 48 hours for the Child Care Licensing Unit to 
review your inquiry. 

• As a Licensed CCAP Provider, you must comply with all Child Care Licensing Regulations: 
o Child Care Center & School Age Program Regulations for Licensure: 

http://www.dhs.ri.gov/Regulations/218-RICR-70-00-
1ChildCareCenterAndSchoolAgeProgramRegulationsForLicensure.pdf 

o Family Child Care Home Regulations for Licensure: http://www.dhs.ri.gov/Regulations/218-RICR-
70-00-2FamilyChildCareHomeRegulationsForLicensure.pdf 

o Group Family Child Care Home Regulations for Licensure:  
 http://www.dhs.ri.gov/Regulations/218-RICR-70-00-
7GroupFamilyChildCareHomeRegulationsLicensure.pdf 

• Licenses are not transferable between providers and locations. In the event of a relocation or business 
transfer, a new child care license must be obtained, and this change must be reflected in a new CCAP 
Provider Agreement in collaboration with the CCAP Provider Management Team for providers that 
serve CCAP children.   

 
License Exempt Providers  
Relative Care Only: 
• A “License Exempt Child Care Provider” means any relative of a family eligible for CCAP rendering child 

care in the home of the child or the provider (not to exceed 6 related children) who has been 
successfully screened by the DHS and determined eligible to participate in the CCAP. License exempt 
providers are not required under applicable State laws (RI General Laws Chapter 42-72.1, et. Seq) to 
obtain licensure from the Rhode Island Department of Human Services but must meet the capacity 
requirements.  
o “Relative” means an individual at least eighteen (18) years old who is the grandparent, great-

grandparent, aunt/uncle, or sibling not living in the home, as it pertains to licensed-exempt 
providers. The status of relative is established by blood, marriage or court decree. 

• License Exempt Child Care Providers must complete a comprehensive background check to confirm 
they (and any adults living in the house) have no disqualifying information or evidence of criminal 
activity. Child care providers who possess a valid DHS license to operate, and who are seeking CCAP 
approved status, are presumed to have been successfully screened in accordance with RI Gen. Laws 
40-13.2-1 et. seq.  

• A License Exempt Child Care Provider must complete the required online Health and Safety Modules 
and provide proof of completion upon applying to the Office of Child Care –  Provider Management 
Team to become a CCAP Approved Provider. These online modules are available free of charge and 
accessible here: http://center-elp.org/professional-development/health-safety-resources/  

 

mailto:DHS.ChildCareLicensing@dhs.ri.gov
http://www.dhs.ri.gov/Regulations/218-RICR-70-00-1ChildCareCenterAndSchoolAgeProgramRegulationsForLicensure.pdf
http://www.dhs.ri.gov/Regulations/218-RICR-70-00-1ChildCareCenterAndSchoolAgeProgramRegulationsForLicensure.pdf
http://www.dhs.ri.gov/Regulations/218-RICR-70-00-2FamilyChildCareHomeRegulationsForLicensure.pdf
http://www.dhs.ri.gov/Regulations/218-RICR-70-00-2FamilyChildCareHomeRegulationsForLicensure.pdf
http://www.dhs.ri.gov/Regulations/218-RICR-70-00-7GroupFamilyChildCareHomeRegulationsLicensure.pdf
http://www.dhs.ri.gov/Regulations/218-RICR-70-00-7GroupFamilyChildCareHomeRegulationsLicensure.pdf
http://center-elp.org/professional-development/health-safety-resources/
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PROVIDER DUTIES/FUNCTIONS 
 

CCAP Eligibility 
• CCAP families are certified for a 12-month eligibility period. Families can only lose their eligibility during 

this 12-month certification period for the following reasons: 
o Failure of the parent/caretaker relative to cooperate with the Office of Child Support Services in 

establishing paternity or in establishing, modifying, or enforcing a support order with respect to 
the child receiving CCAP 

o Changes to income, during the twelve (12) month certification period, if the income exceeds 85% 
of the State Median Income (SMI.) 

o Change of Address (no longer a RI resident) 
o Fraud 

• Families receiving CCAP are asked to recertify every 12 months. 
o  A recertification packet is sent to a family approximately four weeks prior to the certification 

period ending.  
o A family’s failure or delay in submitting a CCAP application can result in period of non-eligibility, 

during which parents/guardians assume the full cost of child care.  
• A CCAP Provider has access to the recertification dates for the CCAP children in their care in the CCAP 

Provider Portal to proactively support families in recertifying before the eligibility end date.  
 
New Enrollments 

• All CCAP Providers are required to complete enrollments through the CCAP automated enrollment 
system, CCAP Provider Portal (RIBridges) within seven (7) days of the child starting care at the 
provider’s program. Enrollment of all eligible or pending children in the CCAP Provider Portal is a 
condition of receiving payment for CCAP authorized child care services.   
o Pending Certificate Numbers: A Pending Certificate means that DHS has received an application 

for CCAP, but eligibility has not yet been determined. When a Certificate is Pending, there is no 
guarantee that payment for these services will be approved. CCAP Providers can begin caring for 
children during the pending period; however, the child(ren) must be enrolled as “Pending” during 
this period. The CCAP Provider will not be paid by DHS for care provided during the Pending 
period if the child is found ineligible for services and/or the CCAP Provider does not enroll the 
child upon learning of their eligibility.  

• To initiate the process of enrolling an eligible child for CCAP authorized child care services, the family 
of the child will contact a CCAP Provider and present the CCAP page of their Benefit Decision Notice 
(BDN) or Pending Certificate notice with the CCAP Certificate Number.  
o Authorized Hours: 

 CCAP Providers will only be allowed to enroll a child in the CCAP Provider Portal up to 
their authorized hours, (i.e. full time, three-quarters time, half-time and quarter time.)  

 DHS will only reimburse CCAP Providers for the child’s enrolled hours not to exceed the 
authorized hours of care. A CCAP Provider may charge a family the difference if a family 
seeks care above what is authorized by DHS i.e. if a child is authorized for half-time care, 
but the family would like full-time care the CCAP Provider may charge the family the 
difference between full time and half-time. 

o School Age Children:  
 CCAP services shall not be authorized for school age children during hours when school is 

in session, which are defined as from 9:30 AM to 1:30 PM. 
 During school vacation weeks or holidays (excludes summer), a CCAP Provider may 

request an “attendance upgrade” for a temporary increase in hours of care provided 
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above the current Parent/Provider Enrollment Agreement. A child must be in attendance 
during the hours for which the CCAP Provider requests reimbursement. An upgrade is 
made in the CCAP Provider Portal during the attendance submission process. 
 During the Summer/Fall flip months, providers should either update 

Parent/Provider Enrollment Agreements and update the enrollments on the 
Provider Portal to reflect accordingly. 

• The provider completes the enrollment within the CCAP Provider Portal using the CCAP Certificate 
Number. After entering the Certificate Number, an Enrollment Notice (DHS-198/DHS-198C) will be sent 
from the Department to both the family and the provider to confirm the enrollment details for the 
child(ren), including the assignment of the family’s co-pay for authorized services, if any.  
o To complete an enrollment, the CCAP Provider will need the following data points, which should 

be captured in the Parent/Provider Enrollment Agreement: 
 DHS Provider ID Number (PID) 
 Child’s Certificate Number 
 Child’s Name 
 Child’s Schedule for Care 

• Providers must complete and maintain records of Parent-Provider Enrollment Agreements for each 
CCAP child the provider enrolls; these agreements must be signed by the parent/guardian who applied 
for child care assistance from DHS.  

• Payment weeks for CCAP services begin on Sundays and end on Saturdays. Care start dates will always 
adjust to the Sunday the week begins. 

 
Problem Enrollments 

• If a CCAP Provider encounters difficulty within the CCAP Provider Portal for entering (or modifying) an 
enrollment, the Provider Management Team is available to assist. 
o Enrollment issues must be reported to the Office of Child Care within 48 hours of identification to 

ensure timely resolution and payment.  
o Enrollment issues should be reported by email to DHS.ChildCare@dhs.ri.gov, accompanied by a 

screen shot of the system issue preventing the systematic enrollment. 
o Please allow 48 hours for the Provider Management Team to review. Depending on the 

complexity of the issue, the Provider Management Team may need to work with the provider to 
map out an individual plan to resolve the enrollment issue to ensure timely services to the family 
seeking child care and reliable reimbursement to the CCAP Provider. 

  
Disenrollments  

• A CCAP Provider must disenroll a child immediately (within 48 hours) of receiving notice that an 
eligible child shall not be using services any longer, for any reason. A provider shall not receive 
continued payment for a child not in their care even if the parent failed to notify the provider of the 
child’s disenrollment.  

• When a child loses their CCAP eligibility, the CCAP Provider will receive a Disenrollment notice (DHS-
199) at least ten (10) days in advance of the child’s effective disenrollment date.  

 
Attendance Submission/Approval 

• Every year, the DHS Office of Child Care publishes a CCAP Batch Payment Schedule.  This schedule is 
made available on the DHS website’s Provider Resources page 
(http://www.dhs.ri.gov/Programs/CCAPProviderResourceNewPageLAC.php) and provides an annual 
schedule of when providers will be expected to submit attendance to secure timely payment for 
services rendered.  

mailto:DHS.ChildCare@dhs.ri.gov
http://www.dhs.ri.gov/Programs/CCAPProviderResourceNewPageLAC.php
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o Please note, CCAP Payroll runs biweekly as a “batch”, one payment batch includes two weeks of 
service.  

• CCAP Providers are required to submit accurate attendance reports online using the CCAP Provider 
Portal (RIBridges) by the date due every two weeks.  
o CCAP Providers must maintain daily attendance records on-site (sign-in/sign-out sheets) signed 

by the parent or guardian, for each eligible CCAP child, for a minimum of three (3) years. 
o The Office of Child Care does not accept faxed or paper attendance reports.  

 
Family Share 
The amount a family is expected to contribute in co-payments to the cost of child care services. 

• A family’s copay will not increase during their 12-month certification period; however, it may decrease.  
• A family copay may be distributed across multiple children. 
• Copays are typically attached to the youngest child; however, copay distribution depends on which 

child is enrolled first and active attendance. 
o Providers should trust the information displayed in the Provider Portal and coordinate with 

families and other providers if necessary. 
 
Absences 

• An eligible child, enrolled with an approved CCAP Provider, shall not be absent for more than five (5) 
consecutive days per month. 

• If/when a CCAP Provider claims payment for a full week of absence for an eligible CCAP child, a CCAP-
351 Absent Notice form is required to verify the absence and the family’s approval for payment.  

• For CCAP payment to be made, an eligible child enrolled with an approved CCAP Provider shall attend 
at least some portion of their CCAP authorized enrollment each week, except for the five (5) days per 
month allowed absence.  

• If a CCAP child does not attend child care for more than a week (5 consecutive days,) the CCAP 
Provider must reach out to the parent/guardian to confirm whether the child intends to return. CCAP 
Providers cannot mark an absent child “present” in order to “hold” the spot.  

• Vacation Days/Closures: a CCAP Provider must be open and available to serve CCAP children. DHS 
payment shall only be made for CCAP authorized child care services during periods in which the 
approved provider is open or available to provide services. Family Child Care Providers can utilize two 
weeks of paid vacation time (not consecutively,) if the time is coordinated with each parent/guardian 
to authorize payment and the provider ensures alternative care is not being utilized. Providers cannot 
bill for more than five (5) days of absences in one month.  

 
Reporting Corrections to Current Batch Payments 

• If an eligible CCAP child attended child care during the two-week batch period but is not reflected on 
the Attendance Report, the provider must contact the Office of Child Care immediately via email at 
DHS.ChildCare@dhs.ri.gov stating the child is not reflected on the Attendance Report accompanied by 
the child’s Certificate Number, DOB and enrolled hours.  

 
  

mailto:DHS.ChildCare@dhs.ri.gov
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Back Billing 
• Occasionally, a CCAP Provider may need to back bill for services rendered due to a system issue. In the 

event of a system issue, the CCAP Provider is required to notify the Provider Management Team within 
48 hours of the system issue to avoid the potential need to back bill. If the issue is unable to be 
resolved, and is documented, the Provider Management Team will process a CCAP Provider’s request 
for Back Billing upon submission of the following: 
o CCAP Provider Back Billing Request form  

 Back Billing must be submitted by certificate and child i.e. enter the certificate and child 
information followed by all weeks the CCAP Provider is requesting reimbursement, using 
the CCAP Batch Payment Schedule Week 1 and Week 2 dates.  

 Printout of Enrollment Details from the Provider Portal is required for each CCAP child the 
CCAP Provider is requesting reimbursement. 

Provider Rates 
• CCAP Rates are defined in CCAP Rules and Regulations and RI General Laws 42-12-23. CCAP Rates are 

published annually on the DHS website’s Provider Resources page 
(http://www.dhs.ri.gov/Programs/CCAPProviderResourceNewPageLAC.php).   

• CCAP Providers have tiered reimbursement rates and depending on the provider type there are two 
rating scales, Steps and BrightStars (Stars). Programs demonstrating higher quality indicators may be 
eligible to receive a higher quality rating on both rating scales.  

o Star Ratings (Licensed CCAP Providers: Child Care Centers, Family Child Care, and Group Family 
Child Care) 
 BrightStars notifies the Provider Management Team on a monthly basis of changes 

(increases/decreases) to a provider’s BrightStars rating. 
 Providers should only contact the Provider Management Team via 

DHS.ChildCare@dhs.ri.gov to report a discrepancy/error in their BrightStars rating 
displayed on the Provider Portal.  

 RI is one of 44 states to use a Quality Rating and Improvement System (QRIS) to 
measure and improve the quality of Early Learning programs. Licensed CCAP Providers 
are required to be BrightStars rated.  

 Studies have shown that a state’s QRIS can improve the quality of child care available 
over time. BrightStars measures a variety of program quality indicators to create an 
overall rating, such as:  
 Staff Qualifications 
 Learning Environment  
 Family Engagement 
 Staff-Child Interactions 

 Providers are required to renew their BrightStars application every three years. 
 BrightStars coordinates this application process directly with the CCAP Provider. 

 Every CCAP Provider is assigned a Navigator from BrightStars who will help them 
to achieve and maintain a quality rating.  

 Providers can contact BrightStars via email (info@RIAEYC.org) or phone at (401) 
739-6100.  

o Step Ratings (SEIU CCAP Providers: Family Child Care, Group Family Child Care and License-
Exempt) 
 Please refer to SEIU Collective Bargaining Agreement Article 16 – Rates of 

Reimbursement for details. 

http://www.dhs.ri.gov/Programs/CCAPProviderResourceNewPageLAC.php
mailto:DHS.ChildCare@dhs.ri.gov
mailto:info@RIAEYC.org
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 Providers should contact the Provider Management Team via DHS.ChildCare@dhs.ri.gov 
to report a change/discrepancy/error in their Step rating displayed on the Provider 
Portal.  

 
Required Pre-Service Training for CCAP Providers 

• Federal Guidelines require new CCAP Providers to complete professional development in several 
required areas within 90 days of receiving their CCAP Approval from DHS. The required training areas 
include: 
o Prevention and control of infectious diseases (including immunization) 
o SIDS prevention and use of safe sleep practices 
o Administration of medication 
o Prevention/response to emergencies due to food and allergic reactions 
o Building and physical premises safety 
o Prevention of shaken baby syndrome, abusive head trauma, and child maltreatment 
o Emergency preparedness and response planning 
o Handling and storage of hazardous materials and the appropriate disposal of bio contaminants 
o Transportation (if applicable) 
o Pediatric first-aid and CPR 
o Recognition and reporting of child abuse and neglect 
o Child development. (RIELDS Guiding Principles meets this requirement or an ECE college course 

with a grade of “C” or better) 
• There is no cost to the Provider to register for these courses. register, or find the next available course 

offering please contact the Center for Early Learning Professionals at http://center-elp.org/ or 401-736-
9020.  
o Most of these modules are available online, using a high-speed internet connection.  
o After completion of the course, please save your certificate of completion and submit a copy to 

the Provider Management Team via email (DHS.ChildCare@dhs.ri.gov) or mail: 
 Office of Child Care  

25 Howard Avenue, LP Bldg. #57 
Attn: Provider Management Team – Room 329 
Cranston, RI 02920 

o These must also be uploaded onto the Workforce Registry, found here: 
https://www.exceed.ri.gov/  

 
  

mailto:DHS.ChildCare@dhs.ri.gov
http://center-elp.org/
mailto:DHS.ChildCare@dhs.ri.gov
https://www.exceed.ri.gov/
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PROVIDER RESOURCES 
• Child Care Licensing 

o All programs operating as an Early Learning program must have an active license. DHS licensing 
standards are the foundational star level for all programs on the states Quality Rating and 
Improvement system.  

o There are several different types of child care licenses as listed below: 
 Child Care Center: provided by a group of people or organization who serve children from 

six weeks of age through about five years old. Many child care programs operate all day 
and throughout the year, while some run on a more typical school calendar schedule. 

 School Age Program: provided by a group of people or organization who serve children 
who are in kindergarten, but under the age of 16. Typically, these programs run before 
and/or after school, and sometimes offer vacation programming. 

 Family Child Care Home: provided by an individual, within his or her home, who serves no 
more than eight children (with an assistant,) from six weeks old through school age. 

 Group Family Child Care Home: provided by an individual, with assistants, within his or 
her home, and serves no more than 12 children, from six weeks old through school age. 

o The Office of Child Care Licensing Unit can be contacted at DHS.ChildCareLicensing@dhs.ri.gov.  
• BrightStars 

o Brightstars is RI’s Quality Rating and Improvement System or QRIS. The QRIS works to assess, 
improve and communicate the level of quality in Early Learning/School-Age care settings. The 
QRIS consists of five star level ratings that can be earned by licensed early care and education 
programs and school-age child care programs.   

o Programs which are licensed are at the first star level of the QRIS, which minimally meets the 
requirement for BrightStars participation for CCAP. DHS invests a significant amount in supporting 
programs to increase their quality and star-ratings through Bright Stars.  

o BrightStars has available “Navigators” which work with programs on understanding the 
requirements at each level of the QRIS.  

o To learn more about BrightStars, visit http://www.brightstars.org/ or call (401) 739-6100 
• Center for Early Learning Professionals  

o DHS funds a variety of professional development and technical assistance opportunities for the 
field. Courses are available face to face as well as on-line on a variety of topics essential to 
teaching and operating an early learning program.  

o To learn more about training and technical assistance available, please visit http://center-elp.org/ 
or call 401-736-9020.  

• SEIU 1199 Collective Bargaining Agreement (Family Child Care and Group Family Child Care Only)  
o SEIU 1199NE represents Family Child Care, Group Family Child Care and License Exempt Providers 

who are approved to participate in the DHS Child Care Assistance Program. The Collective 
Bargaining Agreement (CBA), negotiated between SEIU and the State of Rhode Island outlines the 
provisions and benefits for SEIU 1199 NE members.  
 Please contact SEIU at 401.457.5099 for the most current version of the CBA.  

o The CBA has several services and supports specifically for Family Child Care Providers who 
participate in CCAP are outlined below: 
 Time Off/ Vacation Closure 

 When a CCAP child is enrolled with a licensed Family Child Care or Group Family 
Child Care Provider, DHS shall make payment for up to two (2) weeks of CCAP 
authorized child care services per calendar year when the provider closes their 
program in coordination with families, provided that the following conditions are 
met: 

mailto:DHS.ChildCareLicensing@dhs.ri.gov
http://www.brightstars.org/
http://center-elp.org/
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 Providers must coordinate their vacations/closure dates with their CCAP 
families and provide at least 45 days of notice to CCAP parents of their 
intent to close for a week or more.  

 Providers must also notify DHS CCAP Licensing Team of their 
vacation/closure dates according to the proper procedure and inform DHS 
Provider Management Team of their intent to use their vacation. 

 CCAP parents must authorize payment to the provider during this 
vacation/closure and the child’s absence from the program. 

 Providers must ensure the child(ren) haven’t already used their five (5) 
absences for said month. 

 If the provider is taking two consecutive weeks, each week must be in a 
different month. 

 Documentation of parent authorization must be provided when the 
provider submits for payment. The State shall provide a form for this 
purpose. 

 A provider shall not be reimbursed during her vacation/closure for any 
CCAP child who enrolls in and attends another program which receives 
CCAP reimbursement for care during the hours the child is normally 
enrolled with the provider. 

 No payments shall be made for periods of CCAP authorized services when the 
eligible child is not in attendance once the two (2) week limit has been reached, 
without the prior approval of department. 

 Forms 
 CCAP-350 FCC Vacation/Closure Authorization 

 Sick Time/Substitute on Call Pool 
 In accordance with RI Gen. Law Section 28-57-1 et seq. (“Healthy and Safe 

Families and Workplaces Act”), effective July 1, 2018, the State will pay sick leave 
to licensed Family Child Care Providers as follows: 

 Sick leave shall accrue at the beginning of each year as follows: 
1- July 1, 2018 – 24 hours of sick leave will be credited; 
2- January 1, 2019 – 32 hours of sick leave will be credited; 
3- January 1, 2020 – 40 hours of sick leave shall be credited 

 Child Care Providers must use their DHS Child Care Licensing approved 
assistants or their DHS Child Care Licensing approved emergency assistants 
(Approved Assistants) when a provider uses sick leave pursuant to RI Gen. 
Law Section 28-57-6. 

 The State will directly pay the Approved Assistants for care provided to 
children when a provider uses sick leave pursuant to RI Gen. Law Section 
28-57-6. 

 Approved Assistants must also be on an Approved Assistant list with DHS 
Office of Child Care Licensing before they begin providing child care for the 
provider who is utilizing their accrued sick leave. 

 Approved Assistants must be preregistered with DHS and approved as 
vendors before they begin to be paid under this section. 

 Sick leave payments will be issued to the Approved Assistant in two-hour 
increments. Approved Assistants payments will be capped at 24 hours per 
CCAP Provider for 2018, 32 hours for 2019 and 40 hours for 2020 and 
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thereafter, unless the provider has carried over unused sick leave from the 
previous year. 

 Approved Assistants hourly rates: 
4- July 1, 2018 - $13/hr. 
5- January 1, 2019 - $14/hr. 
6- January 1, 2020 - $15/hr. 

 The Approved Assistant and the provider must sign the DHS approved 
coverage form and return it to the DHS Office of Child Care prior to 
submitting their request for payment for the dates and times in question. 

 Unused sick leave shall carry over from year to year not exceeding a total 
of 80 hours at any given time. 

 Forms 
 Authorization for CCAP Sick Leave Payment to Approved Assistants 

 Please complete one form per date of sick leave. 
 CCAP Payment Request 

 Registration Fees 
 The State shall provide an annual registration fee equivalent to the amount of the 

registration fee charged to private pay families, not to exceed fifty dollars ($50.00) 
per child, for licensed Family Child Care and Group Family Child Care providers 
who have a written policy to charge all families a registration fee.  

 Such registration fees will be paid no more than once each year for each enrolled 
child. 

 Forms 
 CCAP Payment Request Form 

 Orientation Bonus 
 Providers will be paid $75 for attending their initial orientation or when 

subsequent orientations attended at the request of DHS.  
 DHS OCC shall determine the content of its orientation, which will include but is 

not limited to: 
 CCAP eligibility, enrollment, attendance, and billing policies 
 CCAP Provider Portal usage 
 Basic information on CCAP Licensing 
 Information on quality enhancement initiatives 

 Forms 
 CCAP Payment Request Form 

 Direct Deposit Bonus 
 Providers shall continue to be paid every two (2) weeks and have the option of 

automatic direct deposit or check.  
 Effective upon the signing of their CCAP Provider Agreement, providers who are 

currently enrolled in or do enroll in direct deposit shall receive a one-time 
incentive bonus of $100. 

 Forms 
 CCAP Payment Request Form 
 CCAP-5 Authorization for Direct Deposit 

 License-Exempt to Family Child Care Bonus  
 Any License-Exempt CCAP provider who obtains a DHS Child Care License and is 

approved as a CCAP Family Child Care Provider shall receive a one-time bonus 
payment of $500. 
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 Forms 
 CCAP Payment Request Form 
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CONTACT INFORMATION 
 

Office / Team Content Contact Information 
BrightStars Quality Rating and 
Improvement System (QRIS) 

• Apply to receive a star-rating 
• Apply for star-rating increase 
• General questions about 

requirements within the QRIS 
framework 

• (401) 739-6100 
• http://www.brightstars.org/  

Center for Early Learning 
Professionals 

• The Center for Early Learning 
Professionals (CELP) provides 
no-cost professional 
development and technical 
assistance to the early care 
and education and before and 
after school workforce 

• (401) 736-9020  
• http://center-elp.org/about/  

Center for Early Learning 
Professionals and the Genesis 
Center 

• Technology Training for 
Center-Based Providers  

• (401) 781-6110 

Center for Early Learning 
Professionals and the Rhode 
Island Department of 
Education 

• Rhode Island Early Learning 
and Development Standards 
(RIELDS) Training   

• (401) 222-2118  
• http://center-elp.org/professional-

development/rields-offerings/  

Community College of Rhode 
Island 

• Early Childhood Certificate 
and Associates Degree 
Programs 

• (401) 825-1000 
• https://www.ccri.edu/catalog/curren

t/programs/HMNS/  
Office of Child Care / CCAP 
Provider Management 

• Attendance 
• Eligibility/Co-pay 
• Enrollment 
• Financial Matters 
• New Provider Orientation 
• Provider Application 
• Provider Portal Access 

• DHS.ChildCare@dhs.ri.gov 
• (401) 462-6877 

Office of Child Care / 
Licensing 

• New Licenses 
• Licensing Renewals 
• Licensing Complaints 

• DHS.ChildCareLicensing@dhs.ri.gov  
• (401) 462-3009 

Office of Child Care / Quality 
Initiatives 

• Office of Child Care funds a 
variety of early childhood 
professional development and 
quality supports for programs. 

• DHS.ChildCare@dhs.ri.gov 
 

Rhode Island Association for 
the Education of Young 
Children (RIAEYC) T.E.A.C.H. 
Scholarships  

• Provides opportunities for 
child care workers to 
complete higher education 
course work in early 
childhood education while 
providing sponsoring child 
care programs an opportunity 
to develop their workforce. 

• (401) 739-6100 x307 
• http://teach-ri.org/ 

http://www.brightstars.org/
http://center-elp.org/about/
http://center-elp.org/professional-development/rields-offerings/
http://center-elp.org/professional-development/rields-offerings/
https://www.ccri.edu/catalog/current/programs/HMNS/
https://www.ccri.edu/catalog/current/programs/HMNS/
mailto:DHS.ChildCare@dhs.ri.gov
mailto:DHS.ChildCareLicensing@dhs.ri.gov
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Office / Team Content Contact Information 
Rhode Island College • Early childhood certificate and 

bachelor’s degree programs  
• (401) 456-8268 
• http://www.ric.edu/elementaryeduc

ation/Pages/Early-Childhood-
Education.aspx  

SEIU 1199/ESF Training Fund • Training Fund for SEIU 1199 
Family Child Care Providers 

• (401) 457-5099 
• https://www.seiueducation.org/ 

University of Rhode Island  • Early childhood bachelors and 
certificate degree programs 

• https://www.uri.edu/programs/prog
ram/human-development-family-
studies-b-s/ 

• (401) 874-1000 
  

https://www/
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CCAP FORMS  
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Attendance Record 
 

Provider Name:  Date:  

 

Child’s Full Name 
Sign-In Sign-Out 

Time Signature Time Signature 
 AM/PM  AM/PM  

 AM/PM  AM/PM  

 AM/PM  AM/PM  

 AM/PM  AM/PM  

 AM/PM  AM/PM  

 AM/PM  AM/PM  

 AM/PM  AM/PM  

 AM/PM  AM/PM  

 AM/PM  AM/PM  

 AM/PM  AM/PM  

 AM/PM  AM/PM  

 AM/PM  AM/PM  

 AM/PM  AM/PM  

 AM/PM  AM/PM  

 AM/PM  AM/PM  

 AM/PM  AM/PM  

 AM/PM  AM/PM  

 AM/PM  AM/PM  

 AM/PM  AM/PM  

 AM/PM  AM/PM  

 AM/PM  AM/PM  

 AM/PM  AM/PM  

 AM/PM  AM/PM  

 AM/PM  AM/PM  

 AM/PM  AM/PM  
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Attachment A - Authorization for CCAP Sick Leave Payment to Approved Assistants 
 

Rhode Island Department of Human Services  
Office of Child Care  
25 Howard Avenue, LP Bldg. 3rd Floor  
Cranston, R.I. 02920  
(401) 462-6877 
 

Attachment A - Authorization for CCAP Sick Leave Payment to Approved Assistants 

Licensed providers may authorize payment to Approved Assistants commencing on July 1, 2018, to reimburse providers 
for sick leave.  Authorization may only be made in accordance with the terms of the Collective Bargaining Agreement.  
By completing the form below, you are authorizing DHS, pursuant to Rhode Island Gen. Laws Section 28-57-1 et seq. 
(“Healthy and Safe Families and Workplaces Act”) to provide payment to your Approved Assistant during your absence 
for the following reasons:   
 

1. Your own or a family member’s mental or physical illness, injury or health condition;  
2. Your own or a family member’s need for medical diagnosis, care, or treatment of a mental or physical illness, 

injury or health condition; 
3. Your own or a family member’s need for preventive medical care; 
4. Closure of your place of business by order of a public official due to a public health emergency or your need 

to care for a child whose school or place of care has been closed by order of a public health official due to a 
public health emergency; 

5. Your need to care for yourself or a family member when it has been determined by the health authorities 
having jurisdiction or by a health care provider that you or your family member’s presence in the community 
may jeopardize the health of others because of your exposure to a communicable disease, whether or not 
you or the family member has actually contracted the communicable disease; or 

6. Time off need when you or a member of your family is a victim of domestic violence, sexual assault of stalking.  

Approved Assistants must be approved RI FANS vendors in order to be reimbursed for sick leave care they provide. (To 
become qualified as a RI FANS vendor, Approved Assistants must submit a W-9 to the CCAP Child Care Office at DHS.) 
 
Provider name:  DHS Provider Number: 

 
Provider Email:  
 

 

Date of Sick Leave: 
(one form per date) 

Total Hours Used: 
(increments of 2) 

Approved Assistant Name: 
 

RI FANS Vendor Number:  
(DHS Use only)  

Approved Assistant E-mail (if available):  
 

 

 
I certify under penalty of perjury that the information reported on this form is true and accurate, that I appropriately 
discharged sick leave during the time indicated above, or I will be liable to the State of Rhode Island for any payments 
made to the Approved Assistant named above based on my representations herein.  
 
CCAP Provider’s Signature:   __________________________________________                           Date: ___________ 

 
Please submit this completed and signed form to the CCAP Child Care Office at RI DHS. 

 
Email: DHS.ChildCare@dhs.ri.gov  Fax: (401) 462-6878 

 

mailto:DHS.ChildCare@dhs.ri.gov
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CCAP Provider Back Billing Request Form  Rev. 2/2020 
 

Rhode Island Department of Human Services  
Office of Child Care  
25 Howard Avenue, LP Bldg. 3rd Floor  
Cranston, R.I. 02920  
(401) 462-6800 
 

Provider Name:  Provider ID:  
 

Certificate # Child’s Full Name DOB Week 1 Hours Week 2 Hours 
  __ __/__ __/__ __ __ __/__ __/__ __  __ __/__ __/__ __  
  __ __/__ __/__ __ __ __/__ __/__ __  __ __/__ __/__ __  

  __ __/__ __/__ __ __ __/__ __/__ __  __ __/__ __/__ __  

  __ __/__ __/__ __ __ __/__ __/__ __  __ __/__ __/__ __  

  __ __/__ __/__ __ __ __/__ __/__ __  __ __/__ __/__ __  

  __ __/__ __/__ __ __ __/__ __/__ __  __ __/__ __/__ __  

  __ __/__ __/__ __ __ __/__ __/__ __  __ __/__ __/__ __  

  __ __/__ __/__ __ __ __/__ __/__ __  __ __/__ __/__ __  

  __ __/__ __/__ __ __ __/__ __/__ __  __ __/__ __/__ __  

  __ __/__ __/__ __ __ __/__ __/__ __  __ __/__ __/__ __  

  __ __/__ __/__ __ __ __/__ __/__ __  __ __/__ __/__ __  

  __ __/__ __/__ __ __ __/__ __/__ __  __ __/__ __/__ __  

  __ __/__ __/__ __ __ __/__ __/__ __  __ __/__ __/__ __  

  __ __/__ __/__ __ __ __/__ __/__ __  __ __/__ __/__ __  

  __ __/__ __/__ __ __ __/__ __/__ __  __ __/__ __/__ __  

  __ __/__ __/__ __ __ __/__ __/__ __  __ __/__ __/__ __  

  __ __/__ __/__ __ __ __/__ __/__ __  __ __/__ __/__ __  
 

I certify that the information reported on this form is true and accurate, that each of the children reported as present were in my care for the weeks 
claimed during the hours indicated, and that I have signed Parent Provider Agreements and daily attendance records signed by the parent indicating 
each child’s arrival and departure time. I have attached a printout of each child’s enrollment details from the Portal. 

   

Signature of Provider  Date 
 
 

  

Printed Name  Position/Title 
 
You have a RIGHT to non-discriminatory treatment. In accordance with Title VI of the Civil Rights Act of 1964 (42 U.S.C. 2000d et seq.), Section504 of the Rehabilitation Act of 1973, as 
amended(29 U.S.C. 794); Americans with Disabilities Act of 1990 (42 U.S.C. 12101 et seq.), and Title IX of the Education Amendments of 1972 (20 U.S.C. 1681 et seq.); the Food Stamp Act; 
the Age Discrimination Act of 1975; the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services implementing regulations (45 C.F.R. Parts 80 and 84) and the U.S. Department of Education 
implementing regulations(34 C.F.R. Parts 104 and 106); and the U.S. Department of Agriculture, Food and Nutrition Services (7 C.F.R. 272.6); the Rhode Island Department of Human Services 
(DHS), does not discriminate on the basis of race, color, national origin, disability, religion, political beliefs, age, religion or gender in acceptance for or provision of services, employment or 
treatment, in its education and other program activities. Under other provisions of applicable law, DHS does not discriminate on the basis of sexual orientation. For further information about 
these laws, regulations and DHS’ discrimination complaint procedures for resolution of complaints of discrimination, contact DHS at 57 Howard Avenue, Cranston, Rhode Island 02920, 
telephone number 462-2130 (for deaf/hearingimpaired462-6239 or 711). The Community Relations Liaison Officer is the coordinator for implementation of Title VI; the Office of Rehabilitation 
Services (ORS) Administrator or his/her designee is the coordinator for implementation of the Title IX, Section 504, and ADA. The Director of DHS or his/her designee has the overall 
responsibility for DHS’ civil rights compliance. In accordance with Federal Law and U.S. Department of Agriculture policy, this institution is prohibited from discriminating on the basis of 
race, color, national origin, sex, age, relation, political beliefs or disability. To file a complaint of discrimination for SNAP, write to USDA, Director, Office of Civil Rights, Room 326-W, 
Whitten Building, 1400 Independence Avenue, SW, Washington, D.C. 20250-9410, or call (202) 720-5964 

  

 Please complete this form and submit with all required documentation via email or mail to: 
DHS.ChildCare@dhs.ri.gov  or DHS Office of Child Care, 25 Howard Avenue, LP Bldg. 3rd Floor, Cranston RI 02920 

mailto:DHS.ChildCare@dhs.ri.gov
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Provider ID: ___________________________  
Provider Name: ___________________________ 
Provider Address: ___________________________ 
 ___________________________ 

CCAP Payment Request Form  Rev. 2/2020 
 

Rhode Island Department of Human Services  
Office of Child Care  
25 Howard Avenue, LP Bldg. 3rd Floor  
Cranston, R.I. 02920  
(401) 462-6877 

 

Please select which type(s) of reimbursement you are requesting from the Department of Human Services. 
 

 Direct Deposit (one-time payment, $100.00) 
To receive the direct deposit bonus, providers must fill out form CCAP-5, Authorization of Direct Deposit.  Please enclose an original voided 
check or bank letter and forward to the CCAP Office.  Upon verification of Accounts and Control, payment will be made.  

 CCAP Orientation (one-time payment, $75.00)  
Upon completion of initial CCAP Orientation, providers are entitled to a one-time incentive bonus.  Providers need to submit this form to the 
CCAP office for approval of this one-time incentive bonus. Date of Orientation: ______________________________ 

 License-Exempt (one-time payment, $500.00) 
Any DHS license-exempt CCAP Provider who obtains a DHS license shall receive a one-time incentive bonus.  Providers need to submit this 
form, along with a copy of their active DHS license to the CCAP office for approval.  

 DHS-Approved Assistant Payment for Approved Sick Leave (recurring payment) 
DHS Approved Assistants must be approved RIFANS vendors to be reimbursed for the sick leave care they provide. To be qualified as a RIFANS 
vendor, Approved Assistants must submit a W-9, located at http://controller.admin.ri.gov/Forms/index.php to the CCAP Child Care Office. 
Payment will be issued in two-hour increments.  

 Child Registration Fee (recurring payment, up to $50.00/child) 
The State shall provide an annual registration fee equivalent to the amount of the registration fee charged to private pay families for DHS 
licensed providers who have a written policy to charge all families a registration fee.  Providers must submit their Private Pay Registration 
Policy and a complete list of CCAP eligible children to the CCAP Child Care Office.  

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
         
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

   

Signature of Provider  Date 
 
 

  

Printed Name  Position/Title 
 

Payment Request Forms, with all required documentation, should be emailed or mailed to: 
DHS.ChildCare@dhs.ri.gov  or DHS Office of Child Care, 25 Howard Avenue, LP Bldg. 3rd Floor, Cranston RI 02920 

Reviewed/Approved/Submitted to Finance: __ __/__ __/__ __  

OCC Signature: ______________________________________ 

Financial Management: 

Payment Type Requested # Amount Total Amount 

Direct Deposit Bonus  $100.00  

CCAP Orientation Bonus   $75.00  

License-Exempt Bonus   $500.00  

Asst. Sick Leave (Eff. 1/1/19)  $14.00  

Asst. Sick Leave (Eff. 1/1/20)  $15.00  

Child Registration Fees   $50.00  

Total Amount Requested    

 

Processed for Payment On: __ __/__ __/__ __ 

FM Signature:  ______________________________________ 

 

Emergency Assistant Payment for Sick Leave 
☐ EA DHS Approved 
☐ EA RI Fans # Assigned 
☐ EA assigned to the appropriate provider requesting sick leave. 
☐ State of RI W-9 submitted or on file. 
☐ Attachment A submitted or on file. 
☐ Requested hours are within the provider’s accrued sick time. 
Child Registration Fee 
☐ Private Pay Policy submitted/on file, Date: 
☐ Child Care Roster of all eligible CCAP children, there certificate 

numbers, and date of enrollment confirmed in RIBridges system.  
Direct Deposit Bonus:   
☐ CCAP-5 or State of RI Vendor ACH Enrollment Form 
☐ Voided Check/Deposit Slip 
CCAP Orientation Bonus 
☐ Date of Orientation    
License-Exempt Bonus  
☐ Signed DHS License on file. 

For Office of Child Care Use Only 

http://controller.admin.ri.gov/Forms/index.php
mailto:DHS.ChildCare@dhs.ri.gov
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CCAP-5 Direct Deposit Form  CCAP-5 Rev. 2/2020 
 

Rhode Island Department of Human Services  
Office of Child Care  
25 Howard Avenue, LP Bldg. 3rd Floor  
Cranston, R.I. 02920  
(401) 462-6877 

 
AUTHORIZATION FOR DIRECT DEPOSIT 

PROVIDER INFORMATION 

Provider ID:  First Name:  Last Name:  

Program Name:  Primary Phone:  

Number & Street:  

City/Town:  State:  Zip Code:  
 

The Department of Human Services, Office of Financial Management is authorized to initiate Direct Deposit of my Child Care Provider 
Payments to my account at the Financial Institution below: 

Financial Institution: 
(bank or credit union)  

Number & Street:  

City/Town:  State:  Zip Code:  
 

Account Number:   Business         Personal 

PLEASE SELECT AN ACCOUNT TYPE 

 Checking Account ** 

ATTACH A VOIDED BLANK CHECK from the checking account to which the direct deposit will be made. Your 
name and current address must be printed on the check.  If you cannot provide a proper voided check, you 
must provide a letter from your financial institution, which includes your name, address, bank routing 
number and account number.  The letter must be on bank letterhead and signed by a bank representative.  
DO NOT SEND DEPOSIT SLIPS OR BANK STATEMENTS.  Your name must appear on the account and the 
account must be with a United States financial institution. 

 Savings Account ** 

ATTACH A LETTER FROM YOUR FINANCIAL INSTITUTION with your name, address, bank routing number 
and account number.  The letter must be on bank letterhead and signed by a bank representative.  DO NOT 
SEND DEPOSIT SLIPS OR BANK STATEMENTS. Your name must appear on the account and the account must 
be with a United States financial institution. 

** If the same payment has been deposited more than once into your account, child care will immediately correct the mistake and 
notify you of the removal of the duplicate funds from your account. 

   

Signature of Provider  Date 
 
 

  

Printed Name  Position/Title 
 

Please complete this form and submit with all required documentation via email or mail to: 
DHS.ChildCare@dhs.ri.gov  or DHS Office of Child Care, 25 Howard Avenue, LP Bldg. 3rd Floor, Cranston RI 02920 

mailto:DHS.ChildCare@dhs.ri.gov


27 
 

CCAP-350 Family Child Care Vacation\Closure  CCAP-350 Rev. 2/2020 
          

Rhode Island Department of Human Services  
Office of Child Care  
25 Howard Avenue, LP Bldg. 3rd Floor  
Cranston, R.I. 02920  
(401) 462-6877 

 
Licensed Family Child Care Home Provider 

Authorization for CCAP Payment During a Provider’s Vacation/Closure 
 

DHS allows licensed family child care providers to receive payment for up to two (2) weeks per calendar year for 
coordinated vacation/closure dates during which an eligible CCAP child is absent and the parent authorizes payment.  
 
By completing the form below, you are authorizing DHS to provide payment to your child care provider during their 
vacation/closure and your child’s absence from the program and agree not to enroll your child with another child care 
provider during this time.  
 
If you wish to take your child to another CCAP provider during this time, please do NOT submit this form, as DHS 
will not issue payment to more than one provider for the same hours of care. 
  

Provider ID:  

Provider Name:  

Week of Vacation/Closure:  

Parent Name:  

Certificate Number:  

Child(ren)’s Name(s):  

 
I certify that the information reported on this form is true and accurate. The child care provider must include this form 
with their billing invoice in order for DHS to issue payment. No CCAP payment shall be made for absences once the five 
(5) days/month allowable limit has been reached. 
 

   

Signature of Parent  Date 

   

Signature of Provider  Date 
 
 

  

Provider Printed Name  Position/Title 
 
 

 
 
 

Please complete this form and upload this form with the billing invoice or submit via email or mail to: 
DHS.ChildCare@dhs.ri.gov  or DHS Office of Child Care, 25 Howard Avenue, LP Bldg. 3rd Floor, Cranston RI 02920 

  

mailto:DHS.ChildCare@dhs.ri.gov
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CCAP-351 Absent Notice  CCAP-351 Rev. 2/2020 
 

Rhode Island Department of Human Services  
Office of Child Care  
25 Howard Avenue, LP Bldg. 3rd Floor  
Cranston, R.I. 02920  
(401) 462-6877 

 

Child Care Assistance Program (CCAP) Provider 
Authorization for CCAP Payment During a Child’s Absence 

 
DHS allows CCHAP providers to receive payment for up to five (5) days per month during which an eligible CCAP child is 
absent and the parent authorizes payment.  
 
By completing the form below, you are authorizing DHS to provide payment to your child care provider during your 
child’s absence from the program and you agree not to enroll your child with another child care provider during this 
time.  
 
If you wish to take your child to another CCAP provider during this time, please do NOT submit this form, as DHS 
will not issue payment to more than one provider for the same hours of care. 
  

Provider ID:  

Provider Name:  

Week of Vacation/Closure:  

Parent Name:  

Certificate Number:  

Child(ren)’s Name(s):  

Reason for Absence: 
 
 
 

 
I certify that the information reported on this form is true and accurate. The child care provider must include this form 
with their billing invoice in order for DHS to issue payment. No CCAP payment shall be made for absences once the five 
(5) days/month allowable limit has been reached. 
 

   

Signature of Parent  Date 

   

Signature of Provider  Date 
 
 

  

Provider Printed Name  Position/Title 
 
 

 
 

Please complete this form and upload this form with the billing invoice or submit via email or mail to: 
DHS.ChildCare@dhs.ri.gov  or DHS Office of Child Care, 25 Howard Avenue, LP Bldg. 3rd Floor, Cranston RI 02920 

mailto:DHS.ChildCare@dhs.ri.gov
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Parent/Provider Enrollment Agreement  Rev. 2/2020 
 

Rhode Island Department of Human Services  
Office of Child Care  
25 Howard Avenue, LP Bldg. 3rd Floor  
Cranston, R.I. 02920  
(401) 462-6877 
 

This form is to be used by the parent and the provider when enrolling a CCAP eligible or potentially eligible child at an approved DHS 
provider. One form must be completed per enrolled child.  It must be completed and signed by the parent and the child care 
provider; a copy is to be kept by both parties. It is the provider’s responsibility to submit this information to DHS via the Provider 
Portal BEFORE the provider begins caring for the child. Once the enrollment is complete, the parent and the provider will receive an 
Enrollment notice.   

 

Provider ID:  Provider Name:  

Parent’s Full Name:  Certificate Number:  

Child’s Full Name:  Child’s DOB:  
 

Are you related to the child? __ Yes / __ No 
 

AGREED HOURS OF CARE 
Care Start Date:                                  
Care End Date: 

Use this section when child’s schedule is a 
split day 

Day Start Time End Time  Start Time End Time 
Sunday      
Monday      
Tuesday      
Wednesday      
Thursday      
Friday      
Saturday      

 
The undersigned Provider, hereafter referred to as “Provider” agrees to care for the above-named child for the period indicated in 
this enrollment. Provider further agrees that the days and times the child will attend were agreed upon by the Provider and the 
undersigned parent of the child. The undersigned parent certifies that the hours of this enrollment correspond to the hours DHS 
Authorized hours. 
 
The Provider agrees to accept the DHS payment based upon the DHS authorization and approval for Full Time, Three Quarter Time, 
Half Time, Quarter Time or Before and/or After School Care as payment in full and understand that any services provided in excess of 
authorized hours shall be the sole responsibility of the parent. Provider understands and agrees to accept this payment in 
accordance with DHS rules and regulations lawfully promulgated in accordance with R.I. General Laws. The Provider agrees to 
provide child care in accordance with the DHS rules and regulations and in accordance with the DHS CCAP Approved Provider 
Agreement.  
 
The undersigned parent agrees to pay his/her share of the child care cost in accordance with the RI DHS rules and regulations and 
specified in the notice sent by the RI DHS Child Care Assistance Program.  
 
The Provider and the undersigned parent certify that they DO NOT live in the same household. 
 

   

Signature of Parent  Date 

   

Signature of Provider  Date 
 
 

  

Provider Printed Name  Position/Title 
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Provider Change Form 
 

Rhode Island Department of Human Services  
Office of Child Care  
25 Howard Avenue, LP Bldg. 3rd Floor  
Cranston, R.I. 02920  
(401) 462-6877 
 

Use this form to report CHANGES in Name, Address, Phone number, or Household members. DO NOT write the 
information on your billing invoice. 

 
Provider ID: ______________  Provider Name: ____________________________________________________ 

Provider’s Address On File:  ____________________________________________________________________________ 
                                           Street   Apt.#/Suite City   State  Zip 
 
 Address Change   Date of Change:  __ __ / __ __ / __ __ __ __ 
 

       _______________________________________________________________________________________________ 
Street    Apt.#/Suite  City   State  Zip       
  

You must submit verification (utility bill – or, for licensed providers, a DHS license) with your new address on it. 
 
 Name Change    New Name: ___________________________________________ 
 

You must submit verification of your name change with Social Security (you must send a copy of your new Social 
Security Card in your new name) and submit another W-9 with your new name. 
 

 Telephone Number Change  New Number: __ __ __ - __ __ __ - __ __ __ __ 
 

You must submit a phone bill with the new number, your name and your address on the bill. 
 
 Email Address Change   New Email: ____________________________________________ 

 
 Household Member(s) Change  

All new household members will be screened through the Office of the Attorney General & the Department of 
Children, Youth and Families.   

 

NAME (Last, First, MI) Sex Date of Birth SSN Date Moved In 
     
     

     
     

 

I understand the penalty for hiding or giving false information. To the best of my knowledge, I hereby certify that all the 
information I have given and written is true and correct.  
 

___________________                 ____________________________________________________________           
Date      Provider’s Signature    
 

Please complete this form and mail it to: Rhode Island Department of Human Services  
Office of Child Care  
25 Howard Avenue, LP Bldg. 3rd Floor  
Cranston, RI 02920 
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State of RI W-9 
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